BIOGRAPHIES

"A traveling music. Straddling two shores, it weaves links between sounds and cultures "

The Ferraj, in arabic language, is the one who brings deliverance.

Imad Slimani

Bass & backing vocals

Born in Béchar in the Algerian desert, Imad discovered the guitar at the age of 18. He grew up in a family of musicians and was lulled by the rhythmic sounds of traditional Gnawa music played by his uncle on guitar and gambri. He joined his band and participated in many concerts in Algeria and abroad. Influenced by rock music, reggae and blues, he also created the group "Los Palmeras". He moved to Marseille in 2016, and switched from guitar to bass for the band "Orchester Ovipare" - rock-trans-psyche influence. He joined Ferraj in 2019.

Ali Himene

Drums & backing vocals

As a child, in his village perched high on the mountains of Kabylie, Ali already tapped rhythms on everything that came his way, until the day an instrument was put into his hands. It was through Afro-Cuban percussion that he developed his technique. As a multi-instrumentalist in Marseille, he joined a Latin music group and made appearances on stage and worked with several Afro-Latino groups. He draws his influences from his travels between Algeria, Spain and Latin America which we feel in his drumming in Ferraj.

Nadji Boukarana

Guitar and backing vocals

Guitarist, arranger and composer greatly influenced by African and Afro-American music, Nadji Boukarana was born into a family of musicians in Constantine (Algeria). Malouf, Arab-Andalusian music, has nurtured his musical interest from an early age. His career began in Chelgoum Laid, where he joined several rock, Raï and Gnawa groups. It is now, after 20 years musical experience, that his musical projects allow him to naturally mix Algerian sounds with rock, jazz, soul and funk.

Nassim Slimani

Guitar and backing vocals

Nassim Slimani was born in Algeria in the city of Bechar, a Saharan city in which he grew up in a family of musicians from the Saoura region (Diwane and Gnawa). His approach to music began at an early age with percussion, drums and the guitar, which has since become his main instrument. After several concerts in Algeria, Nassim joined the group "Democratoz" for an international tour which took place in collaboration with different musicians and groups. His musical influences are varied: rock, Gnawa, blues, Rai and North African music.

Yacine Zamime

Trumpet and lead vocals

Yacine Zamime was born in Blida, Algeria. He started on brass with the bugle and then at the age of 13 went on to the trumpet. Without any musical knowledge, he took Algerian classics and integrated everything by ear. He joined a traditional music band with which he discovered the stage. In high school, he formed the group Starbouino, rehearsing in football stadiums or abandoned spaces in the city. Yacine then revealed a self-taught gift for the trumpet, song, and percussion. When he arrived in Marseilles, he skillfully incorporated all three instruments into Ferraj.

BIOGRAPHIES

« Une musique voyageuse. À cheval entre deux rives, elle tisse des liens entre les sonorités et les cultures ”

Le « Ferraj«  en langue arabe est celui qui apporte :

une distraction, 

un réconfort,

une consolation,

une guérison.

Imad Slimani

Basse et choeurs

Né à Béchar dans le désert Algérien, Imad découvre la guitare à l’âge de 18 ans. Il grandit dans une famille de musicien et est bercé par les sonorités rythmées de la musique traditionnelle gnawa jouée par son oncle à la guitare et au gambri. Il rejoint son groupe et participe à de nombreux concerts en Algérie et à l’international. Influencé aussi bien par la musique  rock, reggae ou le blues, il créé également le groupe « Los Palmeras ». Il s’installe à Marseille en 2016, et passe de la guitare à la basse pour le groupe « Orchestre Ovipare » d’influence rock-trans-psyché. Il intègre Ferraj en 2019.

Ali Himene

Batterie et chœurs

Enfant déjà, dans son village perché sur les montagnes de Kabylie, Ali tapait des rythmes sur tout ce qui se mettait au travers de son chemin, jusqu’au jour où on a mis un instrument entre ses mains. Multi instrumentiste, c’est à travers les percussions afro-cubaines qu’il a développé sa technique. À Marseille il intègre un orchestre de musique latine et enchaine les apparitions sur scène et les collaborations avec plusieurs groupes afro-latino. Il puise ses influences dans ses voyages entre l’Algérie, l’Espagne et l’Amérique Latine et on le ressent sur sa frappe à la batterie de Ferraj.

Nadji Boukarana

Guitare et chœurs

Guitariste compositeur arrangeur profondément influencé par la musique africaine et noire américaine, Nadji Boukarana est né à Constantine (Algérie) dans une famille de musiciens. Le Malouf, musique arabo-andalouse, a  nourri son intérêt musical depuis le plus jeune âge. Son parcours a commencé à Chelgoum Laid où il a intégré plusieurs formations Rock, Raï et Gnawa. C’est aujourd’hui tout naturellement après 20 ans d’expérience que ses projets musicaux lui permettent de mêler les sonorités algériennes avec le rock, le jazz, la soul et le funk.

Nassim Slimani

Guitare et choeurs

Nassim Slimani est né en Algérie dans la ville de Bechar. C’est dans cette ville saharienne qu’il a grandi dans une famille de musiciens  de la région Saoura (diwane et gnawa). Son rapprochement avec la musique a commencé dès son plus jeune âge avec les percussions, la batterie et la guitare qui est devenue aujourd’hui son instrument de prédilection. Après plusieurs concerts en Algérie, Nassim rejoint le groupe Democratoz pour une tournée internationale. Cette tournée découlera sur des collaborations avec différents musiciens et orchestres. Ses influences musicales sont variées : Rock, Gnawa, Blues, Rai et musique nord Africaine.

Yacine Zamime

Trompette et chant

Yacine Zamime est né à Blida en Algérie, il commence les cuivres avec le clairon puis la trompette à l’âge de 13ans. Sans aucune connaissance musicale, il reprend des classiques algériens et intègre tout à l’oreille. Il rejoint alors une fanfare de musique traditionnelle avec qui il découvre la scène. Au lycée, il monte le groupe Starbouino, ils répètent dans des stades de foot ou des espaces abandonnés dans la ville. Yacine se découvre alors un don autodidacte pour la trompette, le chant, et les percussions. À son arrivée à Marseille, c’est avec virtuosité qu’il intègre les trois instruments au groupe Ferraj.